This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
News & Press: Industry News

ODA Releases New List of Invasive Plants

Monday, January 1, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Alana Settle
Share |

After nearly two years of stakeholder outreach, Ohio Department of Agriculture has established new rules regarding the sale and distribution of invasive plants, effective January 7, 2018.

Under the law, invasive plants are defined as plant species that are not native to Ohio whose introduction causes or is likely to cause economic or environmental harm, or harm to human health as determined by scientific studies.

These rules prohibit the sale and distribution of invasive plants in the state of Ohio. Further, the rules establish a committee which will advise ODA on matters regarding invasive plants.


More Information: 

ODA Newsletter and List of Invasive Plants

Invasive Plant Species Rule


The following plants are considered invasive in the State of Ohio effective
January 7, 2018 except as otherwise noted.

Ailanthus altissima, tree-of-heaven
Alliaria petiolata, garlic mustard
Berberis vulgaris, common barberry
Butomus umbellatus, flowering rush
Celastrus orbiculatus, Oriental bittersweet
Centaurea stoebe ssp. Micranthos, spotted knapweed
Dipsacus fullonum, common teasel
Dipsacus laciniatus, cutleaf teasel
Egeria densa, Brazilian elodea
Elaeagnus angustifolia, Russian olive
Elaeagnus umbellata, autumn olive
Epilobium hirsutum; hairy willow herb
Frangula alnus, glossy buckthorn
Heracleum mantegazzianum, giant hogweed
Hesperis matronlis, dame's rocket
Hydrilla verticillata, hydrilla
Hydrocharis morsus-ranae, European frog-bit
Lonicera japonica, Japanese honeysuckle
Lonicera maackii, amur honeysuckle
Lonicera morrowii, Morrow's honeysuckle
Lonicera tatarica, tatarian honeysuckle
Lythrum salicaria, purple loosestrife
Microstegium vimineum, Japanese stiltgrass
Myriophyllum aquaticum, parrotfeather
Myriophyllum spicatum, Eurasian water-milfoil
Nymphoides peltata, yellow floating heart
Phragmites australis, common reed
Potamogeton crispus, curly-leaved pondweed
Pueraria montana var. lobate, kudzu
Ranunculus ficaria, fig buttercup, lesser celandine
Rhamnus cathartica, European buckthorn
Rosa multiflora; multiflora rose
Trapa natans, water chestnut
Typha angustifolia, narrow-leaved cattail
Typha x glauca, hybrid cattail
Vincetoxicum nigrum, black dog-strangling vine, black
Lythrum virgatum, European wand loosestrife (effective January 7, 2019)
Pyrus calleryana, callery pear (effective January 7, 2023)

For questions regarding Ohio’s Invasive Plant Regulations, please contact the Plant Pest Control Program at 614-728-6400.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal